Here and There…

November 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s that time of year where the store is just rocking!  Which is always wonderful but equally exhausting.  I’ve been trying to squirrel away time here and there when I can.  Two weeks ago I took a day off and went back to Jackson, MS to do some serious thrifting AND I found the loveliest restaurant tucked away in a boutique hotel.  Seriously, if you ever should find yourself in Jackson, try to find the Fairview Inn and their in-house restaurant Sophia’s.  I had the Amberjack with a chipolte-coconut broth and black bean mash potatoes.  Next visit I’m tempted to try the Mississippi Hot Brown…it sounded intriguing!

This past weekend I went to the Three Rivers Festival in Covington, LA and was really blown away with the entire show.  I found some unique wood turned utensils from the Spoon Mill and then a bread bowl I just love in a bright violet from Clement Clayworks.  Here’s my pumpkin bread I made yesterday (one of the seven included recipes).  It’s really good with coffee!

So between the day trips, lots of new things have come in at the shop and online; right now I’m working on a special holiday gift set that will be a freebie for Black Friday and Small Business Saturday that includes these “Heaux Heaux Heaux” pencils…that’s Ho Ho Ho in Cajun!

–Lisa LeBlanc

connect with me: website | twitter | facebook | pinterest | ravelry

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Here and There… at Cottage Nest.

meta